Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
safety first

Division of Mine Safety
Barbourville / Harlan Branch

James Owens, Branch Manager
Barbourville/Harlan Division of Mine Safety

174 Ball Park Road
P.O. Box 836
Harlan, KY 40831
Phone: 606-573-1260
FAX:    606-573-1265

Counties served: Bell, Clay, Jackson, Knox, Lee, Leslie, Owsley, Pulaski and Whitley

Class and Exam Schedule


 Barbourville Employees 606-546-5035

Ricky JohnsonBranch Manager
Dean BushMine Safety Specialist
Ralph CrawfordMine Safety Specialist
Twana GoodenAdministrative Specialist III
Johnny MorganMine Safety Specialist
Randy PartinMine Safety Specialist
Marshall SizemoreMine Safety Specialist
Randell TurnerMine Safety Specialist
Ronald TurnerMine Safety Specialist


24-Hour Emergency Toll-Free Number 
Whenever a serious physical injury or loss of life occurs in a mine or in the machinery connected therewith the mine foreman in charge of the mine or his designee, shall within 15 minutes of having actual knowledge of the occurrence and access to the communication system give notice to the department.

1-877-MINE-911  1-877-646-3911