Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
safety first

Division of Mine Safety
Harlan Branch

Jim Owens
Jim Owens, Branch Manager
Barbourville/Harlan Division of Mine Safety

174 Ball Park Road
P.O. Box 836
Harlan, KY 40831
Phone: 606-573-1260
FAX: 606-573-1265 

Counties Served: Bell and Harlan

Class and Test Schedule


 Harlan Employees 606-573-1260

Jim OwensBranch Manager
Billy AllenMine Safety Specialist
Roger BoggsMine Safety Specialist
David BrockMine Safety Specialist
Dustin ClemMine Safety Specialist
Freddie DixonMine Safety Specialist
John DixonMine Safety Specialist
Ernest HawkinsMine Safety Specialist
Annie JenkinsAdministrative Specialist III
Todd MiddletonMine Safety Specialist
Joey MorganMine Safety Specialist
Michael R PartinMine Safety Specialist
Michael ThomasMine Safety Specialist


24-Hour Emergency Toll-Free Number 
Whenever a serious physical injury or loss of life occurs in a mine or in the machinery connected therewith the mine foreman in charge of the mine or his designee, shall within 15 minutes of having actual knowledge of the occurrence and access to the communication system give notice to the department.

1-877-MINE-911  1-877-646-3911